Skip to content

Arrivederci

March 1, 2014

I am leaving Italy in a few days after living here for half a year.  I’ll have six weeks off work before moving back to London in the middle of April.

Image

I’ve had a fantastic time in Italy but I’ve not managed to learn the language the way I hoped I would.  It’s made me think a bit about how I have previously set myself targets that I’ve not managed to accomplish.

From running an 18 minute 5k to learning the guitar, from having a portfolio of ten piano songs I can play to learning a new language, from reading a book a month to reading the newspaper every day, from becoming an expert tennis player to becoming an expert golfer.  I’ve got carried away with big ideas time and time again.

There are lots of things I have managed to complete – my degree, exams, jobs etc but when it comes to learning new hobbies and skills I get myself to a certain level of competence and then seem to hit a wall.  It’s so easy to just give up, concentrate on your job and then move on to some new interest a month later.

I’m hoping that recording a few goals here will increase the probability that I follow through on them, or, if I don’t follow through on them I will be reminded of my failure every time I come to this page and it will provide some motivation.

By July 31st 2014 I want to:

  • Have got back in to playing at least two sports, probably tennis and football or tennis and squash
  • Start playing an instrument again
  • Have finished reading 5 more novels
  • Started Italian lessons in London
  • Have run a timed 19 minute 5km race

There you go.  I feel motivated.  Let’s see if it is a 0/5 or if I can force myself to DO THINGS!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 1, 2014 11:57 pm

    I think putting your goals out there in writing is a huge step. It makes things feel a little more real. Plus, sharing them with the public builds a bit of pressure from accountability. You don’t want to feel silly when you have to tell someone who asks that you never got around to trying on some of these…

    • March 2, 2014 6:59 pm

      Exactly, it’d be a great feeling to say that I’d accomplished most of these in a few months. It’s all about keeping the pressure on and increasing the shame if I fail!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

